top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReshmy Raphy

Why I hate BTS, love Hridyam, and hate Chocolates

I almost died writing this ridiculous clickbait title! Never again am I going to pull this dangerous stunt again. But that's what the world has come to; Quick to hate, Late to love.



When someone says they love an artist or something that I’m not particularly a fan of, making fun of them or hating them for it is not among the top three reactions I would have. And I have some really good Sanghi friends who basically worship the one who shall not be named. Our stark difference in opinion never resulted in hate but some disagreements or dropping the topic altogether. I learned the hard way that this is not the same for everyone. And that it was second nature for most to hate someone for liking or supporting something they don’t like; be it abortion laws, celebrities, veganism, religion or BTS.


People loved the Malayalam movie Hridyam and the Kannada movie K.G.F. Now, I could barely get through these movies and that doesn't mean I'm gonna go around hating their fans. Also saying 'no offense' before spewing hate isn't justified either. People are scared of haters that hardly anybody wears a Marvel-themed T-shirt to the Marvel movies. What a scary world we have out there!


My love for BTS transcends above their music. For me, they are nothing less than my savior. I do not shy away from saying that I am alive today because their music saved me and I'm not talking in metaphors. We all have our share of darkness and we deal with it and come out of it in our own ways. For me, that way was through BTS. Realisation dawned upon me when my mother told me that she thinks that I have never loved someone or something as much I love BTS. It is true. The gratitude I feel is immense. Call me a crazy fangirl but I would gladly take a bullet for them.


I am a person who is not particularly fond of a hospital just like everyone else. Going through check-ups, surgery and post-operation care involved a lot of needles and scary machines. I was not immune to pain just like everyone else. But I was confident I would make past without much hurdles. It may sound funny to you or maybe even irrelevant. My blood pressure would shoot up during some tests and have gotten the staff worried. And I would do the same thing every time to bring it back to normal. You may have guessed it. Yes, I would hum my favourite BTS Song. I was surprised the first time it worked and slowly it became a practise. I would either sing a song or try to remember things about the band members or even just go for the fan chant. I got through all the pain with them in my mind and heart. The surgery was during their latest concert. Concert highlights were my companion when I was shifted to my room.


Now all that doesn't mean I want you to like them or join the fandom. It just means that there could be a lot more than you think about things people love. And spewing hate or poking fun at them for their likes is just the same as driving a knife right through their hearts. It is simply cruel and uncalled for.


Also if you like or love something. It doesn't mean that the other person should love it too. Understanding when to stop gushing about your favourites is an important step too. Nobody has been successful in pestering someone to like someone or something except in Bollywood movies.


You can't stop hate with hate. So when you bash someone for their hateful comments, it does no good. Again, calling out and bashing are two entirely different concepts. Cracking a bottle on someone’s head for saying that they hate Biriyani is bashing someone. But saying that the person is not showing characteristics of a good human when they say that all who like biriyani are monsters is ‘calling out’.


My blog post is not gonna change anything and I'm very well aware of that. But putting it out here gives me comfort. And someone who would really like to know me would read my blog. Now that's how I weed out the unnecessary people in my life.


Afterall,

Haters gonna hate, Players gonna play



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 By The Bad Blogger. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page