top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReshmy Raphy

In the Rain

It would be unlike me if I didn't do anything adventurous or downright daring every year. And so to not break traditions, I moved to a new city to try out a new job in a new field. Writing has always been a getaway for me. Either I write sappy novellas or murder mysteries on my blog or cliched romances on Wattpad or publish a book. There's no in-between. A book is on the way, but that's all I can say for now.




The past few years felt like standing in the rain. Now when you are standing in the rain there are a plethora of emotions and feelings that could flood someone. A child might find it fun to play in the puddles, a parent might be worried about their child falling ill, someone rushing to a place or had decided to dry their clothes might see it as an inconvenience, a couple in love might peg it as the most romantic moment in their life, a philosophical thinker might equate it to a heavy meaning, the list goes on and on. Rain is something that is constant in our lives. The rainbows and thunders too. What we choose to feel makes all the difference.


What is a blog post without an airport story, right?

I was stranded at the airport in the wee hours of a very cold morning despite having two active phone numbers because my phone chose to not work one fine day. Inserting and reinserting the sims multiple times and even losing them on the horribly patterned floors, I did everything that my brain could conjure after 20 hours of no sleep. Imagine my horror trying to locate a pay phone. My very first thought was do pay phones still exist? And yes, they do. Very much existent though not in those red booths like in movies and novels (Damn my old-school heart). The next thought is, do they need coins? No, they work on cards and even UPI. And then I borrowed a phone from someone to call my friend because I didn't know what to do if the call dropped in between like how they show in old movies (Damn my cinephile brain). Although now it does feel like a funny incident, it felt like a horror story.


The month of love is approaching and I'm already dreading the taunting valentine's messages from Swiggy, Zomato, Flipkart, and the CP wali aunty who sells roses. Being an old-school romantic in this age and time is nothing but futile. But does that stop me from dreaming? Hell, nah! Blame it on K-drama, Jane Austen novels, and DappledDaisies on Wattpad, I am going to be a forever romantic waiting for my soulmate and one true love ( Will probably end up in the basement of my parent's house with a dog and a humongous library). I happened to have a discussion lately on love and romantic partners. While most of them swear by trial and error through dating apps, I simply can't wait for serendipity to play its role. There are stories of people who find love on apps and then there are stories of a lover serenading the other with flowers and letters every day. I have had really bad luck when it comes to dating and I think I am talking about this on my blog for the first time. Attracting commitment-phobes and workaholics who hardly have any time in the day is a real specialty of mine and I can't help but wonder why it happens so often. Letting cupid and eros play their tricks on me, I want to close this topic on the note where my new friend from the office gave a bouquet of handpicked flowers to her boyfriend (I know right! It was so wholesome <3).


For now, the love of my life is completing his military enlistment and I find solace in being one among the many fans and well-wishers who sent him love through letters and wishes.


While the new city and the people are treating me quite well, I can't but be wary of what could go wrong. Call it the intuition of a cat that had slipped into hot water. But I think it is going to stick for a while. I have been watching a few shows that give me comfort and food for thought and I feel like my readers would enjoy them too. Most of the shows are in Korean with English subtitles but they are so amazing that it influences me on a greater level.


The first show is called The dictionary of Useless Human Knowledge. While the show's name might seem disinteresting, with each episode I can swear that I have grown a lot as a person. Each week the team consisting of a film director, a k-pop idol (Yes, Namjoon!), a renowned writer, an astronomer, a forensic expert, and a physicist discuss humans and their behavior. The eclectic mix of the discussion panel itself is an amazing eye-opener to how each of these people perceives the same things. If you are looking to watch something on a lazy Sunday afternoon and not feel guilty about wasting your time watching something and not doing anything productive, I would 100 percent recommend this show. It is impossible to not take something with you and keep pondering about it after you have watched this show.




The second show is called Problematic Men which might make you think it is about men being problematic in our lives but no it is something entirely different. In this show, a bunch of geniuses from mostly the entertainment industry sit together and solve problems, not your regular family problems but the kind you see in question papers, riddles, MENSA papers, etc. I enjoy my time solving these problems and puzzles with them and I grow on an intellectual level with each passing day. Again, I started watching this show after the appearance of Namjoon from BTS in a couple of episodes but now I'm hooked. How do I say this, man has amazing taste in good TV shows, books, and reality TV. Also, we happen to share the same MBTI, probably why we share a lot of similar interests (and not Talent!).




The third show is called Hello Counsellor where a team of people from different sections of the entertainment industry sit together and discuss randomly picked family problems to give an unbiased opinion and possible solution. They discuss everything from eating disorders to obsession with soft toys to unhappy marriages. It is actually refreshing to see a format wherein they do not dramatize and feed off the emotions to gain TRP.





I feel like good reality TV is a key necessity in our times. They add value to our lives without rotting our brains with drama and unnecessary fights (*cough* BigBoss). These are some shows that will always be a part of who I am today and I'm forever thankful to BTS for indirectly recommending them. On that note, there's a concert recording coming up which will be in theatres and I can't put into words how excited I am. Though I really would have liked someone to accompany me, especially my ARMY buddy it is going to have to take a backseat in front of BTS appearing on huge screens. God, I feel all giddy just thinking about it.



Yet again I'm at a paragraph where I only remember that I had started off with Rain and now I'm talking about BTS. Just Reshmy things I suppose.


So until next time,

This is Reshmy signing off :)

Borahae <3


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 By The Bad Blogger. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page