top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReshmy Raphy

What is your dream ?

Updated: Apr 8, 2023

A very harmless question. But what does it entail? A very popular book defines dream as something that would keep you awake at nights until you achieve it. Yet another book says that dreams are an illusion for the weak. Is the dinosaur attacking your teddy bear in your sleep a dream? Or is it the profession that you aspire to pursue? Or is it the kind of life you want to lead? Or is it what you want to accomplish or try in your life? What are dreams to you if each of them has a different meaning to it ?





As a kid, I was full of dreams. I had so many dreams that it was impossible to choose one. I wanted to be so many things that now when I look back, I have become something that I had never imagined. Does that mean I'm a failure? Well, get that intrusive thought outta your mind. If you are not living your dream, it only means that you had the courage to do something that you had never even imagined. Whose got that kind of courage? It is easy to point hands and say that they did not become what they had dreamt of. But what we forget is that following a dream and making it a reality is still a privilege that not all can afford.



Yesterday, I was watching a talk show where the host asked this very question to a very successful actor. The actor was quiet for a while before he answered. He said that he had achieved his dreams as an actor but as a human, he's far too behind. This was followed up with another question ---- What would you tell those who share the same dream as yours? His answer is what prompted this blog post.


"It took 10 years for me to succeed. And the only thing that kept me going was that I couldn't imagine myself doing anything else. And probably it was because of that I wasn't sad about having to have skip a meal or two just so I could be in a city where my dreams could take off. If you aren't that sure, your steps would waiver."


This got me thinking. What is something that I can't imagine not doing? I couldn't find an answer. I was thrown off. I started thinking about all the possible things I have done what would make me wake up at the crack off dawn and skip meals and make crazy goals. I found none.


Dejected I sat down to write a short story. Something about a girl not having a dream. It was okay to not have a dream as long as you are happy. It was an attempt at consoling myself of sorts. When I have jumbled thoughts, I put those thoughts onto a character and decide a storyline and life for them. This helps me put everything into perspective. Once the story was done and my character was happy of not having a dream, I put the story into a pile of hundred or so other stories that haven't seen the light. Then I went on to read a book hoping that probably I would find what my dream is. All the while mentally saying that it was absolutely fine to not have a dream. Such FOMO! The truth was that my dream was too woven into my life that I barely noticed it or saw it apart. It had become so much like breathing. The answer was simple. I have been doing it all along in various forms and I'm still doing it. Writing.



That put things into perspective. You could be following your dream without making noise and chatter. Or without having to reach the ends. Not winning the highest honour or award wouldn't mean that you haven't achieved your dream. At the end, it is all about being happy while following your dream and living and only you get to decide the extend of it.


So, let me ask again.


What is your dream?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 By The Bad Blogger. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page