top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReshmy Raphy

Why do people watch Korean Dramas ?

This question baffled me for several years and I always thought it was something I would never understand. People all over the world seem to have a favourite K-drama and K-drama star that they wouldn’t mind reading a paragraph like this with the word K-Drama repeated at least 4 times. But last month I stepped into the world of Korean Drama and let me tell you this,’ I will never question the love for K-Drama.




This post is targeted at people who don’t know what Korean Dramas are and has the same question baffling them for years.


You must be thinking that I turn up once in a while to write a post and I must have gone cuckoo to be dedicating it to K drama. Well, my friend, let me introduce you to my new friend and inspiration; K-Drama.

K-Dramas are quite a popular genre and I wonder why I took so long to discover this absolute gem of a universe. I may or may not be able to convince you to watch K - Dramas but I am putting up this post in the hope of doing so.




The characters

Each character undergoes a complete transformation from the start of the show to the end. They are 3-dimensional and full of emotions and life. The character arc is detailed and has multiple transformations as opposed to completely evil or superheroic characters. Redemption arcs in these dramas never feel forced upon and appear gradual and realistic.




Emotions and Family


Irrespective of gender, characters in Korean Drama express a variety of emotions throughout the runtime. To be honest, I have felt emotions that could not be put under a category. The male lead sobbing on screen or the lead lady saving the hero from danger are portrayed without adding the oomph factor which sets it apart from the rest. K- drama strives to bring realism in family and relationships beautifully. The deep knitted intricacies and tensions in families are hard not to notice.



Fashion

When it comes to high-end fashion or street fashion, K -dramas set a new standard, to begin with. They set fashion statements that are both effortless and a breath of fresh air. I am not exaggerating when I say that I am currently looking for job opportunities in South Korea; a far-fetched idea but yes one can dream right.





Soundtrack

Sometimes I like to watch K-Drama on speakers and on several occasions my mom and sister have said that they would cry even without knowing the plot of the series. My playlist has numerous soundtracks from these series and my belief in music has no language boundaries has been strengthened further.


Patriarchy and Feminism

How can I not bring this up ? The male lead and the female lead have ambitions and dreams and both strive equally to achieve them. The struggles related to gender disparity are also portrayed efficiently. Parents encourage both daughters and sons to take up responsibility. Normalizing love and marriage in their thirties or even after are something to look out for in every K-drama.



The countless lessons and Motivation

To me K- drama has been an immense source of inspiration and motivation. The background score and the build-up for events in the shows are lined with every bit of tactics to make you feel things you never thought existed Every episode manages to teach something that I never thought of in the first place. This is especially true in the case of my latest favourite 'Start-Up'.



Last but not the least, Drool-worthy characters.

K drama has set my bar of expectations very high and this might lead to me ending up with 10 dogs and maybe a python. Several characters stay close to my heart and I take them with me as I complete each series.



Watching these series was an experience that I wouldn't forget any time soon. Whether it is bawling my eyes out or feeling butterflies in my stomach or rooting for a certain couple or maybe just winning an event; I enjoyed feeling the emotional rides.

And to end the post on a sweet note, here are my recommendations for you. I loved these shows and if you like my posts probably you will love them too. Also, do send me suggestions from this genre.


Top 5 for K-Dramas on Netflix for this month are:

1.Crash landing on you




2. Start-up


3. What's wrong with secretary Kim?


4. Strongest Deliveryman


5. It's okay to not be okay




I have started learning Korean and hopefully will soon be able to cross the 2cm barrier at the bottom of the screen. This is the 3rd Language I'm learning this year and I am a very proud student. 'Saranghe' is my favourite word and I respond with 'Dhae' instead of okay. And I am waiting to call someone 'Oppa'.



2020 has been strange and weird. Well, 2021 is definitely gonna be our year, or maybe 2022 or 2023? Maybe? You would never know. But what I know is that you shouldn't miss out on watching some real gems.



Finger hearts for you all


103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 By The Bad Blogger. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page