top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReshmy Raphy

Welcome to my Ted Talk...

Lately, I have been starting all my articles in the same way and the same format. I acknowledge my laziness, then I apologize and then I promise to change. Well, we all know how that goes. Today I will start with an incident that restored some hope and faith.



In an all-new attempt to turn to a healthier lifestyle, I have started walking along the sea as an exercise. Well, it is a beautiful sight to overlook while taking a brisk walk. One day, I saw an old man barely lift a box of water bottles to either end of the walkway. After about 5 minutes, I realized what had happened. Before I say that, this walkway is home to kids playing with or eating sand whichever they prefer, exercise enthusiasts, family picnic enthusiasts, and cyclers. The first thought that came to my mind was that he was gonna have a gathering with no regard for the cover protocols but this thought was soon put to rest when he drove off after dropping those boxes. It was an act of kindness, for the tired and weary exercise enthusiasts, something that gave me happiness as though I was in a Christmas movie.



I turned over to this new adult life when I got a job. Well, it's been three successful weeks and I should probably add ‘weird’ to the entire experience. So here’s what happened.

I got a call from a company saying they want and an architect and they had no clue about what an architect should know or be doing. On the first day, I was greeted by the project manager and I realized I was the site architect for a 7 million BHD (1500 crore INR) project in its early construction stage! Well, that isn’t it. Surprises kept on coming. I greeted everyone sir and ma’am since I was the youngest and I thought I must be at the bottom of the pyramid. On the second day, I was introduced to my draftsman. Yes, I got a draftsman. And I realized this was one among those I called Sir on my first day. The next day the project manager called me and asked me to take control and that most of them on the site were at the bottom of the pyramid and I was on the second level and shouldn’t be listening to them but instead give orders. It doesn’t end there. The site engineers come running to me calling me Ma’am and asking me things and that means me making critical decisions. With each passing day, I am learning from the project managers at a rate of 2 years per minute. Thanks to my great grasping power and memory, I have managed to create a great impression. Yesterday, I was told that I need to press my colleagues ( some of whom have 20 - 30 years of experience) and instruct them to work and speed up the project. I don’t think anybody else would have been in such a scenario. It is weird but yeah I’m enjoying it. Now, the office has confused people who call me ma’am and I call them sir and ma’am. Weird. But it would be impossible for me to land somewhere that ain’t weird. Oh, and yes, I am getting my own office next week. The wonders never cease to happen.



I have always wanted to hold a senior position where I would be the problem solver and give instructions. But I never saw this coming. Me…a person who just passed out making actual important freaking decisions with more than half the office calling me ma’am. The weird quotient just multiplies itself.

And I'm back on Wattpad after 3 long years with yet another new short story.Three chapters have been updated and the rest will soon follow.

Catch a glimpse right here.


I have a question; Have you put your dreams on pause because you are scared of falling and getting hurt? Do you wish if you too had a safety net so that you wouldn't hurt yourself bad incase you fall? Well, you are not alone.

Presenting ‘Start-up’, a Korean series streaming on Netflix that has made me think, question, and take action. Didn’t seem like an ad, didn’t it? Well, what should I say? The series keeps me on my toes. With 8 episodes as of today, I am already a big fan of the show and am eagerly waiting for the next episodes which will arrive this weekend. I found the show extremely relatable even though it was set in an entirely different world that I am unfamiliar with. This was a recommendation that came from a person with an unexpected taste. Well, good for me, I have found my next favorite show.



A father refused to take his daughter to the park since she got hurt the last time she fell off a swing. As a parent, he thought keeping her away from everything that may pose danger was the key. But the daughter loved playing on the swing and wouldn’t take no for an answer. Then she convinced her dad to dump sand below the swing so that she wouldn’t get hurt while swinging and she could soar high and touch the sky.



Most of us have wished at some point or the other that if we had this sand to fall on, life wouldn’t be so hard and we could try again without getting hurt. Some of us get this sand like a prime delivery while to others it is like a Covid-19 vaccine. The analogy may not make sense to you now but I do have a point.


So here’s the question again;
Have you put your dreams on pause because you are scared of falling and getting hurt? Do you wish if you too had a safety net?

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 By The Bad Blogger. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page