top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReshmy Raphy

Firsts and new beginnings



Firsts are always special and memorable. Nobody forgets their firsts and everyone looks forward to it. Though the cinematic universe romanticises first love, first kiss etc, the little known firsts are what keeps us going. First words, first steps, first birthday, first day at school or college or an office, first failure, first competition, first win and the list goes on.

I’m a lucky person on that front. I got to have my firsts twice and this time even more memorable and sweeter.


Some of you who follow my blog regularly might know this. But let me repeat for those who are as clueless as the person sitting next to me wondering who writes on a flight. Yeah, total nutjobs like me. Airports and flights spark my writing wires, can’t help it neighbour.


Almost five months ago, I had surgery. At this point, this surgery has basically become my personality. I donated a kidney to my not-so-old old man.

My first ever surgery and hopefully the last. What nobody tells you about a surgery is that you have to start from zero.


The First day, I took my first breath without an oxygen mask and uttered my first words.

The Second day I took my first step and almost fell flat on my face if not for my physiotherapist.

The Third day I took my first liquid meal. That night I was allowed to have Kanji ( Rice porridge). Now let me throw this random fact on your faces. The origin of rice porridge is Chinese and it is called ‘Congee’ in Chinese. I was mind blown when I got to know this.

The Fourth day I attempted to walk and just like the first time, my mom stood with open arms to catch me if I fell.

The fifth day, I had my first ever meal. Dosas for the win!

The sixth day, I took my first shower. Bed baths don’t count and it doesn’t feel as nice as a warm shower.


Soon came my first car ride, first staircase, first auto ride and so on and forth. My sister tells me that I have become a total baby and I don’t blame her. I was practically glued to my mom and she took care of every little thing. And today is another first. My first ever plane ride after surgery and also staying away from mom after surgery. To say that I'm 100% dependent on her would still sound like an understatement.


Airports always inspire me to write and being stuck at one definitely helps. My airport saga continues.


Cheers to many more firsts!



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 By The Bad Blogger. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page